first_imgA fit-again Gautam Gambhir will lead a 14-member Indian Board President’s XI against the touring Australian team in a three-day practice match from September 25 in Chandigarh.The BCCI’s selection panel met here at the Tamil Nadu Cricket Association headquarters at M A Chidambaram Stadium today and selected the team for the match which precedes the two-match Test series starting October 2 in Mohali, Board Secretary N Srinivasan said in a statement.Gambhir, who was nursing a knee injury, is the only senior player in the team which comprises mostly of youngsters.The batting line-up features promising names such as Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha along with all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja.The pace attack would be spearheaded by S Sreesanth with R Ashwin and Abhimanyu Mithun for company.The slower bowling department would be led by Piyush Chawla.Australia will also play a three-match ODI series after the Tests, starting October 19 in Kochi.The Board President’s XI squad: Gautam Gambhir (Captain), Shikar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Piyush Chawla, Abhimanyu Mithun, S Sreesanth, Jaydev Unadkat, Umesh Yadav, Abhinav Mukund, Ravindra Jadeja.last_img

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply